How to Make Your Own Butter in 10 Minutes or Less

homemade butter

I’ve been wanting to try making my own butter for a while, and this past week I finally did! Usually when I try something new, I practice and perfect it before posting about it. But making butter turned out to be so easy that I’m not going to wait! I’m going to tell you exactly how I did it, and show you with pictures!

But first, why would someone make their own butter when it can be easily purchased at the store?

Well, don’t tell anyone this but some days I am a horrible cook. I mean everything I touch ends up in the trash. Making my own butter makes me feel better! It makes me feel accomplished!

Besides..homemade butter just tastes so good!

Plus, if you can get good quality, fresh or raw cream, it can also be healthier as well as possibly cheaper depending on your area.

So here goes:

1. Start with a pint of cream

2. Whip the cream in a blender or food processor until the butter forms. You will see solids separate from the liquid after about five minutes. This liquid is buttermilk. (Not the thick, cultured type required for baking; it is thinner and perfect for soaking grains.)

3. Pour the butter and buttermilk into a strainer to separate the two.

4. Rinse the butter thoroughly in cold water to remove any remaining buttermilk. This will prevent the butter from going bad quickly.

5. And Voila. You have butter!

A pint of cream makes about one half pound of butter.

4 thoughts on “How to Make Your Own Butter in 10 Minutes or Less

Leave a comment